How Do I Delete A Social Media Account?

Go into your general settings and then go to the manage account category. Next to it, you can find an edit option. Click it and choose deactivate your account. Next, Facebook will prompt you for your password and ask you to give a reason, such as privacy concerns or wasted time.

How do I delete my account from the central Wikimedia servers?

Please contact privacy@wikimedia.org to request deletion of your account from our central databases. Please bear in mind that it is not always possible to delete all data related to your account.

If my IP address is blocked from editing, does that apply to all of the Wikimedia sites?

A simple and effective way to make the information easier to read. For example, the term “northeast” is commonly used in the United States to mean the region that goes from north to northeast. This term does not imply a direction (like “northwest”).

If I edit using one username but make contributions under another name, will both still be available?

If you access both blocked and unblocked versions of your user page, then any edits, blocks, or redirects that you place on that page remain in place for a longer period of time. If there are any pages or Talk archives which mention you or are linked to them, then those too remain as is. Deleted content remains in Wikimedia’s raw historical data dumps for a longer period of time; see this FAQ entry for more details.

How long will it take to delete my personal information?

Our goal is to respect your privacy and provide you with the tools to remove your data. For example, if you are inactive and logged in for at least two months, we will delete your user page in all project’s archives (admins may wish to retain this content for historical reasons). Also, please note that any logged IP address will be recorded for 30 days after deletion. If you want us to permanently delete all records about your user page, please contact us via email at privacy@wikimedia.org.

Leave a Comment